Liverpool our best performance under me, says Crystal Palace boss

This article is published at http://www.croydonadvertiser.co.uk/Liverpool-best-performance-says-Crystal-Palace/story-24629517-detail/story.html

Crystal Palace manager Neil Warnock insisted he “couldn’t really ask for anymore” from his Palace side as they brushed aside Liverpool, 3-1.

The manager was full of praise for his team and believed his side could have even scored more than three today.

He said: “I thought the way we played, the way we responded; it was really constructive. I thought we played some good stuff today, attacked at will when we broke out of defence.

“We created some good chances really. I’m pleased to get three but if anything I’m disappointed we didn’t score more really.”

Palace switched off from the start as they allowed Rickie Lambert to score his first Premier League goal inside two minutes, and Warnock acknowledged that keeping clean sheets are a problem for his side at the moment.

“I think we can cause any teams in the league problems if we play ourselves. What we’ve got to sort out is our clean sheets,” said Warnock.

“I didn’t think Julian had too much to do today but we conceded a goal like that early doors. You can’t really say it was an easy goal from their point of view, it was one long ball and we ball watched.

“We got punished so that’s disappointing. I’d love to get clean sheets now because I think we’re always likely to score goals with the players we’ve got.”

Warnock continued to praise his side’s victory describing it as their “best performance” under himself.

“[It was our] best performance. More like a Neil Warnock performance that. The weather helped; good, old-fashioned. It was exciting. The crowd got going, they were fantastic today.

“We could have had six or seven points more quite easily by playing some good stuff, really and today I thought we got our just rewards for playing good football. We played it really well and took our chances today.

“We’ve had opportunities in every game to put the team under pressure and we haven’t been able to do that but today I thought we played some really good stuff. I thought we looked well organised and difficult to break down.”

Leave a comment